Another canyon and a wee photography error

The canyoneering season was in full flood, but I was so excited about it that I didn’t pay attention to my phtography and this led to a days worth of underexposed images. Ah well:

Let me start by apologizing for the number of pictures in this gallery and the quality. The middle fork of Lytle Creek was the most beautiful I have found around Los Angeles, and I needed to keep a fair number of pictures in it just to tell the story of this stellar hike. As far as the quality goes I unfortunately left my camera set to underexpose by 2 stops and didn’t notice until the day was finished. I was also trying out a lens that cut my file size from 12MB to 5.5MB. Anyway, enough excuses.
As I mentioned above, this was the best canyon EVER … well okay, that might be exaggerating a little, but not much. It had gorgeous 100 ft waterfalls which are running full still since there is still snow in the mountains above it. Speaking of snow, we found a proto glacier, which I’m sure will not last out the summer, but was very cool nonetheless. It had obviously been created by a serious avalanche, and the debris at the bottom was impressive, huge boulders and trees all piled up against the wall of the canyon opposite where it came in. There was also a cave carved into it by the meltwater which was tall enough to walk in, although we didn’t go far into it since it was all dripping and we were wet enough as it was.
This hike also includes 4 stellar rappels, one almost right in the middle of a waterfall. Clear water, clean granite and groves of trees completed the picture. Anyhow, I liked it so much I’m going to go back next weekend and try to get some better quality pictures. But in the meantime, here are the ones which I managed to get this Sunday.
http://www.duffyknox.com/gallery/4927149_JNStN#294418772_bXj8d


Leave a Reply

