a perfect day …

Apparently I had a good time Jan 18, 2008, Judge for yourselves:

For those of you who are actually having winter right now I’m sorry, but I’m about to describe the astounding weather we have been having here in Los Angeles for the last week or so. Over that time it has been around 80 degrees and sunny with a nice breeze, absolutely the perfect temperature. I believe this is the kind of weather we have evolved to feel the most comfortable in. Anyway that’s how it has felt to me.

This is just a long lead in to let you know how it was Sunday, when I spent the entire day, from dawn to dusk, outside. The predictions for the waves on Sunday were that it was supposed to be a monster day for surfing, 10-15 foot waves on west facing beaches. My friend Mike called me up and suggested that it might be a good day to get up at dawn and take pictures of some surfing. My first reaction was that it is never a good day to get up at dawn, but after thinking about it for a while I had to agree that it could be interesting, so Sunday morning at 6:00 I was on the road driving to the Ventura County line where Mike and his friends planned to be surfing. The sun started to come up as I drove up the Pacific Coast Highway, or as we call it down here PCH. There was a faint chill in the air, but it felt as though I probably wouldn’t even need the fleece I had brought. As I drove the last mile to the beach I was hurrying because the sun was starting to rise and I wanted to be at the beach for the first light.

I got to the beach in good time and there were already plenty of surfers there, but unfortunately not all that much surf. The promised waves never really surfaced, but that didn’t bother me as much as it probably did the over crowded surfers. The light was beautiful, the air was comfortable and it was a lovely day to be up with the sun.

I took pictures there for 2.5 hours, until the light was getting a little harsh, and then I decided to go meet up with some friends who were climbing at Malibu creek. I hadn’t climbed outside for over 5 months, and this seemed like a good opportunity to ease back into it. For those of you who don’t know, Malibu Creek is where they filmed M.A.S.H. and Planet of the Apes, and probably many other movies. Its a lovely Park and this was a great day to go for a walk in it. I eventually found the group of people I was looking for and had a great day hanging around, top roping a couple of very easy climbs and just being outside. I headed back to the car just as the sun was getting low in the sky and drove back to the coast. As I approached Pepperdine University in Malbu, the sky was blazing red, and I felt I had to stop at a small park by the university overlooking the ocean to take a couple of pictures of the sunset.

I hobbled across the field to the overlook (my feet and legs were sore from being on my feet for the whole day, which I hadn’t done in months) and looked over the calm ocean to the pastel clouds on the horizon, and I have to say that life felt very good indeed at that moment.

This is a very long winded lead in to a gallery of pictures documenting this day. I’ve tried to keep the gallery as small as possible, but it is still 30 pictures. Forgive me the 2 page gallery, but I needed that many to show what the day was all about. I hope you get a small fraction of the enjoyment I felt in taking these pictures from looking at them:

http://www.duffyknox.com/gallery/7140845_LuPXM#458100061_vo9eh

Cheers, and good health to all of you

Leave a Reply

