Death Valley in Winter

From mid February, 2009:

Well, I had only one day off this long weekend, Monday, so I decided to drive off to Death Valley in the hope that I would be able to see it snow there. Years ago a friend of mine, Bob, drove over the pass from Big Pine to Eureka Valley in the winter and told me about seeing the Joshua Trees in the snow. I had wanted to see that myself ever since and this seemed like an opportune moment, given the rain and snow we had. I was also hoping to see snow on the sand at Eureka Dunes, but unfortunately its elevation was a little too low so I had no luck there. Sunday night after work I hopped into the car and headed up to Eureka Dunes. I camped out overnight there which is always wonderful since you are usually the only person for 50 miles around. The light was very flat when I got up at dawn, so it wasn’t a good day for taking pictures of sand dunes, so instead I hopped in the car and went 4 wheeling over the backroads of Death Valley. The roads were so rough that my car started shedding a few pieces, such as the skid plate, from the bolts vibrating right off. Fortunately nothing really important came off and I was able to visit, old mines, the race track, Ubehebe crater, and Zabriskie point. I was thwarted when I tried to head up to Dante’s View since they had the road closed, so at that point I headed on home. It was a long day in the car (~10 hours), but it was worth it to see the valley shrouded in snow, clouds and rain.

Anyhow, here are a few pictures from Monday (25 pictures). I’m trying to keep the galleries as small as possible now so there are less excuses not to look at them 😉

http://duffyknox.smugmug.com/gallery/7395526_GiBE9#P-1-20

Leave a Reply

