The arrival of the Clan

My sister and her tribe, the Gaffney-Knoxes, arrived in Los Angeles on February 5th as part of their year of world travel. Sarah, Pete, Brazil and Esker drove into town after being surprised by snow driving through the american southwest. The plan was to head up to Death Valley to camp and take in the desert ambiance, but they decided to take a well earned day in Los Angeles on Saturday to organize and relax. I took them down to visit Marina del Rey and Venice, and we caught a break in the weather as the clouds opened up and gave us a little sun. We wandered the beach to the Venice Pier, headed along the canals, wandered the board walk and checked out the new skateboarding facility, where people of all ages and skill levels glided, jumped and crashed on the wonderfully smooth concrete waves. This was the most time I had spent with them ever, since I moved down to LA just when Brazil was born, and have only visited for holidays since then, and it was wonderful to get to know them all better. We actually fit pretty well in my apartment, since I have a nice air mattress which I pulled out for myself. There was a wall of laptops up as Pete and Sarah caught up on their blog and photo editing, and the kids enjoyed the big screen and playstation, playing Little Big Planet for a few hours. There is so much to see in LA that I was only able to give them the barest hint of a flavour of it, but they will be back in June at which point I’ll try to show them a little more.

As a result of conversations with Sarah and Pete about blogging in general and mine specifically I’m going to change one thing about my blog and provide more pictures in the blog itself. I’ll also remind you that any coloured words are links, and the title above the pictures is always a direct link to my gallery, which you can also get to by clicking on the pictures themselves.

Here is a link to the Gaffney-Knox Adventure Blog, chronicling their adventures as they travel 5 continents.

Anyway, on to the pictures:

Winter in Venice

Leave a Reply

