Kelso Dunes

For a while I’ve wanted to go check out the Kelso Dunes in the Mojave National Preserve. I had the opportunity 3 weeks ago and I took the drive east to do it. These dunes are almost as tall as my favorite dunes in Death Valley, Eureka Dunes, and I wanted to check if they were as impressive and magical as I find Eureka. The answer, unfortunately, is no. Kelso Dunes are about 90% stabilized with desert plants, and seem to be on their way to becoming hills. This means there are not so many of those sinuous wind carved shapes which I find so evocative. That being said it was still fun to go check them out. Like Eureka, these dunes are known for making the mysterious deep rumbling sound when sand is disturbed from the crest of the dunes. They are also a few hours closer to LA then Eureka. It was an enjoyable hike to the peak of the dunes, and an interesting experience being in the seemingly eternal sandstorm on the ridgeline. I tried to keep the sand out of my camer, but even so the lenses were grinding a bit later. Anyhow, here are the pictures from my wander around the dunes.

(please click through on the link below or the pictures to go to the gallery at http://www.duffyknox.com or click on the title above to go to the blog page at https://duffyknox.wordpress.com)

Kelso Dunes

Leave a Reply

