Catching up, days 73-79

Due to time constraints and the absence of a wireless signal in Death Valley, and an overabundance of photographs to process, I haven’t been able to post for a while. I do have pictures for each day though, and so here I am, playing catch up.

Day 73: Machelle and I went over to Ballona Creek and took some night pictures. I tried a bunch of angles, but the bridge was the best>

day 74: At work we take lunches Monday, Wednesday and Friday to play Ultimate. Usually I am too busy running myself ragged to take any pictures, but on Friday we had 2 full teams and 2 substitutes for each team so I had the opportunity to take a few pictures.

Friday night we took off for Death Valley. We camped at elevation, around 8000 feet, expecting snow, but it has been a dry winter there. Because of this the wildflowers we were hoping for never materialized and we had to make do with vistas and details. Guess which one this is:

Sunday we started at Dawn at Dante’s view then went to Zabriskie point. At this point we had had enough of the 100 degree heat and decided to do a little exploring in the Southern Sierra on the way home. We went into the mountains for a spectacular drive east of Lake Isabella, then head down to Mojave. The wind was blowing fiercely on the way down and looking out of the car we saw what at first appeared to be smoke. As we got closer we realized it was a dust/sandstorm burying a small community.

Monday was spent at work and plowing through the myriad of pictures we had for the weekend, so I didn’t actually get an opportunity to take a picture 😦 Anyhow, I added an incredibly charming picture of Tz in death valley for your enjoyment.

Tuesday night I noticed a public space overlooking the highway, which I hadn’t seen before. We went there and played around a bit.

Tonight I was still busy editing so we just went up the street to take pictures of some of the newly blooming flowers.

 

Anyhow, there you have it, all caught up.

Enjoy,

Duffy

Leave a Reply

