Mushroom hunting in the Santa Monica Mountains

Well, I have been somewhat remiss in my blogging of late, but I have been out doing things in the last month and a half. I haven’t been as busy with my camera as usual, but I’ll post the pictures I have taken. I’ve also taken some video but it will take me a while to deal with that backlog. Anyhow back to the pictures.

In mid February I got a call from Don suggesting we take a hike to a secret place in the Santa Monica Mountains to look for Chanterelle mushrooms. These wonder mushrooms grow in the deep canyons of the Santa Monicas and Don had been out the day before and come back with a huge haul of them. He wanted to check out another area so off we went. It wasn’t a huge or technical hike, but it was off the beaten path, so I saw parts of the mountains I hadn’t ventured into before. On the way we came across many other kinds of mushrooms, and plenty of wildflowers blooming from the reasonably wet winter, but our Chanterelle haul was not quite as rich as his previous day. We also came across various urban ruins complete with LA petroglyphs (aka graffitti). Anyhow, on to the pictures.

Santa Monica Mushrooms

One thought on “Mushroom hunting in the Santa Monica Mountains

  1. Anyone with an interest in the picturesque Santa Monica Mountains should visit http://savethemeadow.com Your comments could help preserve the mountains. An unsightly 7 acre RV Park is planned by the state along Mulholland Highway (a state designated scenic drive). Project Officially known as the Ronald Reagan Equestrian Campground

Leave a Reply

